SXSW Film 2012 Award Winners

The award winners for the SXSW 2012 Film Festival were just announced.  Congratulations to all of the winners.  We will have reviews up for several of these films very soon. Below is the press release for the awards.


Austin, Texas – March 13, 2012 – Jury and Audience Award-winners of the 2012 South by Southwest (SXSW) Film Conference and Festival were announced tonight at the Festival’s Awards Ceremony, presented by Veam and hosted by comedian and actor Doug Benson. The Awards took place at the Vimeo Theater in Austin, Texas.  Feature Films receiving Jury Awards were selected from the Narrative Feature and Documentary Feature Competition categories. Films in these categories, as well as all feature categories, with the exception of Special Events, were also eligible for 2012 SXSW Film Festival Audience Awards. Only Narrative and Documentary Feature Audience Awards were announced tonight. Narrative Spotlight, Documentary Spotlight, Emerging Visions, Midnighters, 24 Beats Per Second, SXGlobal and Festival Favorites Audience Awards will be announced separately on Saturday, March 17, with the Headliner Audience Award to follow on Monday, March 19, 2012. SXSW continues showing films through Saturday, March 17, details can be found at

SXSW also announced the Jury Award-winners in Shorts Filmmaking and winners of SXSW Film Design Awards Presented by iStockphoto, as well as Special Awards, including the Louis Black “Lone Star” Award, the SXSW Chicken & Egg Emergent Narrative Woman Director Award and the SXSW Wholphin Award. New for 2012, Jury Awards will be handed out for Short films in the SXGlobal and Midnight Shorts sections. Audience Award results for all categories were certified by the accounting firm of Maxwell Locke & Ritter.

“It’s been amazing this year to hear over and over again about the high range of quality across the board,” said Janet Pierson, Film Conference and Festival Producer. “I know I’m always going on about the great variety of our program, but this year it seems to have been embraced in even wider measure and it’s very exciting.  SXSW is a special moment for the creative community to both inspire and be inspired.  We appreciate the audience and jury engagement and recognition for these highlighted titles.”


The 2012 SXSW Film Festival Juries consisted of:

Narrative Feature Competition: Lisa Hintelmann, J. Hoberman, Jane Schoettle

Documentary Feature Competition: David Courier, Philipp Engelhorn, Catherine Shoard

Narrative Shorts: Susan Arosteguy, Mark Elijah Rosenberg, Thuy Tran

Documentary Shorts: Anna Higgs, Gerald Peary, Basil Tsiokos

SXGlobal Shorts: Margaret Brown, Chale Nafus, Linda O. Olszewski

Animated Shorts: Brad Graeber, Brad Phillips, Bryan Pudder

Midnight Shorts: Nate Bolotin, Tim League, Ti West

Music Videos: Jim Eno, John T. Kunz, Mark Woollen

Texas Shorts: Karim Ahmad, Jennifer Cochis, Anderson Le

Texas High School Shorts: Marcy Garriott, Emily Hagins, Bart Weiss

Title Sequence Design: Ian Albinson, Jenny Lee, Ben Radatz, Gareth Smith, Kurt Volk

Poster Design: Craig Crutchfield, Tim League, James Leal-Valias, Charlie Loft, Danny Parker

Louis Black “Lone Star”: Elizabeth Avellán, Christy Lemire, Ron Mann

The 2012 SXSW Film Festival hosted a total of 132 features, consisting of 74 World Premieres, 17 North American Premieres and 11 U.S. Premieres, with 58 films from first-time directors. 138 shorts will screen as part of 12 overall shorts programs.  The nearly 275 films were selected from a record number of overall submissions, over 5,300, comprised of approximately 2,000 features and 3,300 shorts. This was a 7% increase over 2011 despite moving submission deadlines a month earlier than in previous years.


The 2012 SXSW Film Festival Award Winners:

Feature Film Jury Awards



Grand Jury Winner: Beware of Mr. Baker

Director: Jay Bulger


Grand Jury Winner: Gimme The Loot

Director: Adam Leon

Special Jury Recognition for Performance:

Jamie Chung – Eden

Besedka Johnson – Starlet

Nico Stone – Booster


Feature Film Audience Awards


Winner: Bay of All Saints

Director: Annie Eastman


Winner: Eden

Director: Megan Griffiths

*Audience Awards for Narrative Spotlight, Documentary Spotlight, Emerging Visions, Midnighters, 24 Beats Per Second, SXGlobal and Festival Favorites sections will be announced on Saturday, March 17.  The Headliner Audience Award will follow on Monday, March 19, 2012.


Short Film Jury Awards


Winner: The Chair

Director: Grainger David


Winner: CatCam

Director: Seth Keal


Winner: Don’t Hug Me I’m Scared

Directors: Rebecca Sloan & Joseph Pelling


Winner: The Perfect Fit

Director: Tali Yankelevich


Winner: (notes on) biology

Director: Danny Madden


Winner: Battles, “My Machines”

Director: DANIELS


Winner: Spark
Director: Annie Silverstein


Winner: Boom

Director: Daniel Matyas & Brian Broder


SXSW Film Design Awards presented by iStockphoto

Winner: Man & Gun

Designer: Justin Cox

Special Jury Recognition: Pitch Black Heist

Designer: Andrew Cranston

Audience Award Winner: The Maker

Designer: Christopher Kezelos



Winner: Les Bleus de Ramville

Designer: Jay Bond, Oily Film Company Inc.

Special Jury Recognition: X-Men: First Class

Designer: Simon Clowes, Prologue Films

Audience Award Winner: Bunraku

Designer: Guilherme Marcondes, Hornet Inc.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: